The Trail Mix Trials
Feeding an Addiction or Feeding Your Face?

Is Your Dad an Alien?

… Because I’ve never seen anything like you on earth. 

Earth Girls Really Are Crazy

Earth Girls Really Are Crazy

Wow. Does that really work?  I’d say the odds are pretty slim.  So what is a corny pick-up line doing in a blog about trail mix?  Read on.

Truth be told, I have had to hold myself back from posting this on Facebook and Twitter for the last two months or more:

“They should call trail mix ‘God’s Mix,’ because something this amazing could only come from the heavens.”

The worse part is, I am not kidding.  That was an honest, fully sober and very sincere thought that would form in my head mid-consumption.  But there were just too many reasons to refrain from the post:

  1. Last I checked, bad pick-up lines really don’t apply to things lacking a heart beat.
  2. Didn’t know if the super religious folk would find my Godly references offensive and sacreligious.
  3. A girl’s gotta draw the line somewhere … do my online friends really care about every little thing I eat?
  4. I could have posted that one over and over (but  my “fans” need variety).  Like I said, I eat trail mix at least 5-6 days per week – and sometimes multiple times per day. 

So what is the point?  I’m getting there.

In one of my favorite books, The Secret, by Rhonda Byrne, a contributor talks about how he feels when petting his dog.  He is happy, fully focused and completely living in the moment (I have the same experience when petting my dog, but that is an entirely different blog).

There are only a handful of actions that capture my whole-hearted attention and wipe clean extraneous thoughts  from my head, allowing me to live 100 percent in the moment. Trail mix consumption also falls into that category for me.  When enjoying it, I reach a state of proverbial bliss.  I taste every bite and thoroughly enjoy the entire experience.  The world around me stops,  thus resulting in extraordinarily strong desires to post pick-up-line-sounding status updates online about trail mix.

And here’s where this tirade comes full circle.  What if that awkward coed at the bar throwing those horrible lines your way felt the way I feel about trail mix when he/she sees or thinks about you?  Assuming he/she is not a creepy, stalker-type, wouldn’t you want to give that person a chance?

You must be an interior designer because you sure make this place look good.

You must be an interior designer because you sure make this place look good.

Food for thought (pun intended). Another batch of rhetoric in The Trail Mix Trials.

No Responses to “Is Your Dad an Alien?”

Leave a Reply

