The Trail Mix Trials
Feeding an Addiction or Feeding Your Face?

I Was Running …

And don’t tell any one, but I like it lately. 

forrest-gump

(See Forest Gump Clip … just for fun)

Today is Tuesday and we’re ready for the next chapter in the Trail Mix Marathon.  Today’s energy blend was a generic fruit and nut mix from Albertson’s.  It had:

  • peanuts
  • cashews
  • almonds
  • sunflower seeds
  • mango chunks
  • golden raisins
  • raisins
  • pineapple chunks

And you know what … it works.  I ate it a few hours prior to the run and felt strong and energized for the entire 3.25 miles today.  You can’t begin to tell me that I am in prime running shape after one week on the job.  No way.

This blend has no candy or chocolate-based elements, which makes me reflect back on the Breast Cancer 3-Day Walk.  This past year, at the rest stops during the 60-mile journey, I opted for the bags of peanuts over the other carb-based snacks (most of the time; the exception being the Uncrustables). I truly felt these power-packed peanuts attributed to more even and long-lasting energy. 

Maybe the same is true with running.  I don’t know that the “energy” label on trail mix makes the difference, but the protein-packed elements found in most trail mixes make it a good snack to sustain the body through exercise.

We’re only two marathon trials in, so we will continue to investigate these so-called energy mixes in the weeks to come.  I might even ask our old friend Bucky Diggs for some insight.

One Response to “I Was Running …”

  1. Angie,
    Bucky Diggs here 🙂 For me running is a way of life. Up the trees, around the trees and down the trees. There are two mixes I would try from our site http://www.NuttyIdea.net

    1) The Energizer . . . Almonds, Peanuts, Sunflower Seeds, Cashew, Raisin and Cranberry.

    2) The Rainman . . . Almond, Pistachio, Honey Oat Clusters, Cranberry and Cherries.

    The Rainman was developed by one of our customers who is a fighter pilot and he purposely had this mix created for the endurance of the G’s he has to endure while flying in the middle east. Now I’m just a squirrel and I eat for the pleasure and I’m no health physician but he sure feels it makes a difference.

    Hope this helps . . . I know it will taste great 🙂


Leave a Reply

