The Trail Mix Trials
Feeding an Addiction or Feeding Your Face?

Been There, Done That

You might recall a few weeks back that I was pretty sure I had created the perfect trail mix.  If not, see this post.  I developed a blend with almonds, orange-flavored cranberries, banana chips, sunflower seeds and dark chocolate-covered raisins.  berry nut chocolate

Apparently, I spoke too soon because unbeknown to me, a similar – and more supreme – mix has already been developed.  It is the berry, nut and chocolate mix from Planters.  Their mix blew mine out of the water.

Ingredients:

  • peanuts
  • orange-flavored cranberries
  • cranberries
  • raisins
  • dark chocolate candy pieces
  • almonds
  • golden raisins
  • cherries
  • mangoes

Well, shoot!  The only thing my mix has going for it is that I can get a heck of a lot more for a much less money.  mom and pat

This kind of reminds me of my mom, who was in town visiting from Arkansas this weekend.  I am her mini-me, and just when I think I have it all figured out – well here comes mom who has been there, done that – and is doing it a little better than I am.  mom and me behind

I’m not upset about this at all.  Most of the best lessons I’ve learned in my life have come  from my mom.  However, I can’t help but chuckle a bit about the irony of the situation.  It was like God’s way of reminding me that I don’t know everything and that mom usually knows better.

Here are some pictures of our fun times this weekend.  mom and me boatAs you peruse through them, snack on that Planters Berry, Nut & Chocolate mix and you’ll see what I mean about it being superior.  It is a stark reminder that we are always learning, not matter what the trial may be.

One Response to “Been There, Done That”

  1. Love the compliments. Your words remind me of me and my mom. At times I thought I knew everything, but as I aged I realized how wise she was. Angie, you too have taught me so much about life. You will know what I mean if you have children of your own. Your proud mother.
    Love you always, Love, mom


Leave a Reply

