The Trail Mix Trials
Feeding an Addiction or Feeding Your Face?

No Cuts, No Butts, No … Soy Nuts

Hopefully that line brings some memories back from elementary school (except I don’t think soy nuts were invented then, which is why we said  “coconuts” instead).

But seriously, have you eaten soy nuts before?soy If so, did you like them?

I’ll try everything once, some times even more than once, but I’ve given these damn nuts more than a fair shake, and they are terrible.

I seriously think I’d rather eat dirt, because that would taste better.  No seasoning in the world can help the grainy and flaky texture of them (not to mention the taste).

Today I ate a chocolate cranberry crunch trail mix, which included:

  • chocolate-covered cranberries
  • almonds
  • walnuts
  • raisins
  • pineapple
  • soybeans (nuts)

It sounded good until you read “soybeans,” right?

For the record, I have no issue with soy – soy (1)I drink soy milk, prefer tofu to beef, and am a huge fan of edamame.  But soy nuts?  No thank you.

They turned what could have been a perfectly delightful mix into something that has frankly made me a little cranky.  Not good.

I’d like to talk to the person who came up with the idea to add the soy nuts.  Not to “give him/her a piece of my mind,” but to try to understand the logic.  It is just not clicking for me.

If you’re a soy nut fan, you have my apologies; this will be the last (not to mention the first) time they ever grace these trials.

No Responses to “No Cuts, No Butts, No … Soy Nuts”

Leave a Reply

