The Trail Mix Trials
Feeding an Addiction or Feeding Your Face?

I Went to the Bar

While it is 5 o’clock somewhere, it wasn’t that kind of bar.

Last night, as I was perusing in the produce section (of all places), I ran across the Mariani Honey Trail Mix Bar.

In the name of science, I bought it against my will as I prefer loose trail mix over trail mix in bar form.  trailmixbar

That being said, I was impressed by the lack of non-trail-mix-related additives. The packaging boasted:

  • all natural
  • gluten and wheat free
  • vegetarian
  • pure and simple

Ok.  I dig.  Reading the backside ingredients panel, I learn they are not kidding.  This bar is made of:

  • peanuts
  • honey
  • raisins
  • sunflower kernels
  • almonds
  • pumpkin seeds

That’s it.  Unlike its trail mix bar brethren, this trail mix bar really does only have trail mix ingredients – no flour, sugar, or ingredients I cannot pronounce.

So I’ve been proven wrong again.

Upon eating it, it is really good.  And it is an excellent method of portion control.  Lord knows how easy it is to eat five or six servings of loose trail mix without even realizing it.

I should also add that upon browsing the Mariani site, they have a ton of awesome snacks – all natural and all healthy.  snacksLook for products with this label around your grocery store.

Next time you run across these trail mix bars at the store, pick one up.  It is a trial that may become a trend in the Robert household.

2 Responses to “I Went to the Bar”

  1. A glowing review! I’m going to check for this next time I’m in the store. For bars I generally like Odwalla, but having options is always good! 🙂


Leave a Reply

