The Trail Mix Trials
Feeding an Addiction or Feeding Your Face?

It’s No Secret …

… That I wanted to grow up and be Barbara Walters (and still kinda do).10567972.jpg In fact, I still have the VHS documentary of her life that I purchased when I was a journalism major at SDSU.  I used to watch it over and over.

However, my quest for sleep and a semblance of normalcy (in work hours) led me down another path.

Blogging  has given my dream a sense of renewed hope.  While I don’t think I’ll be gracing prime time or covering any major moments in history in the near future, The Trail Mix Trials (TMT) have enabled me to write and tell stories. At the core, that is what I love to do.

Yesterday, my friend Gayle posted a link on her Facebook page to the San Diego Press Club‘s call for entries for its 36th Annual Excellence in Journalism Awards.  Shortly thereafter she followed up saying that blogs were a category as well. pressclubinlayers_small_0u5z

Jokingly, I shot Gayle a message saying “Do you think they’d consider ‘The Trials?”  She wrote back telling me about a non-journalist blog category and then added some very persuasive reasons as to why I should enter.  (Side note: Gayle could probably tell me to jump off a bridge and I’d listen; she’s that good.)

Pondering this idea overnight, I woke up today and decided – what the hell?!  I’m gonna give it a shot.  So the entry is now officially en route (I had to act fast; the deadline is Monday).

Am I getting too far ahead of myself?  Probably.  But the way I see it, the San Diego Press Club is an excellent organization so even if I don’t win, the entry fees will be going to support a very good cause.

The Press Club recognizes that journalism comes in a variety of different forms – similar to trail mix.  Coinsidentially, there are nuts and fruits in the profession as well in so many of the blends we review here. (Had to throw that in there as I’m sure my journalist friends would agree and also  get a chuckle out of it.)

For the record, I know that I am not a real journalist, but TMT has given me a tiny glimpse of what it might be like.  So I guess you can say – I’m livin’ the dream.

Who ever thought that the tables would turn on TMT?  It looks like this week, I’m the one on trial.

3 Responses to “It’s No Secret …”

  1. Well I disagree you are a true journalist. Maybe not a mainstream journalist but a definate niche journalist . . . and well written I might add! Don’t sell yourself or TMT short it is a great blog and growing 🙂
    Good luck . . . keep us East Coasters posted on the results!

    http://www.NuttyIdea.net

    • For some reason this comment went into my spam filter. Sorry for my delayed response. You’re too kind. Very nice compliments. I’ll let you know how it goes!

  2. […] and entered this blog for a San Diego Press Club Excellence in Journalism award (if not, read this post).  At that time, nothing in the world could have made me believe I had a chance to win or even get […]


Leave a Reply

