The Trail Mix Trials
Feeding an Addiction or Feeding Your Face?

Where’s My Pocket Protector?

I’m crunching numbers over here and am not feeling confident in my abilities without it.  nerd

I kid.  Thank Gawd PollDaddy.com makes it virtually idiot-proof.   So here are the results from our June 25 favorite trail mix ingredient poll:

Out of 72 votes, the favorite ingredients were:

  • Almonds – 13 percent
  • M&M’s – 11 percent
  • Chocolate chips – 10 percent
  • Dried cranberries – 10 percent
  • Peanuts – 8 percent
  • Cashews – 8 percent
  • Pistachios – 7 percent
  • Sesame sticks – 6 percent
  • Yogurt-covered peanuts – 6 percent
  • Dried strawberries – 6 percent
  • Yogurt chips – 3 percent
  • Banana chips – 3 percent
  • Sunflower seeds – 3 percent
  • Raisins – 1 percent
  • Dried apples – 1 percent
  • Dried pineapple – 1 percent
  • Pretzels – 1 percent
  • Mangoes – 1 percent
  • Other (they didn’t say what “other” is) – 1 percent

My concern is that this poll may have been rigged.  Leading the list of favorite ingredients are almonds.  Please tell me you haven’t forgotten our favorite “almond pusher,” Jimmy.  Either you really took his post to heart, dear readers, or he went on there and voted multiple times.  Jimmy?!

To further dig into the accuracy of TMT’s first poll, I did what any thorough blogger would do – I consulted the experts.  You all remember Brett and Bucky from NuttyIdea.net, right?

Fortunately, they have surveyed their customers as well, and this is what they’ve learned:

The scientific methods used are mind-boggling

The scientific methods used are mind-boggling

1) What Is Your Favorite Nut?

Total # of Answers on Poll – 134

  • Almond – 36 . . .  (27%)
  • Brazil Nut – 16 . . . (12%)
  • Cashew – 44 . . . (33%)
  • Pecan – 8 . . . (6%)
  • Hazelnut / Filbert – 2 . . . (1%)
  • Peanut – 4 . . . (3%)
  • Walnut – 4 . . . . (3%)
  • Macadamia Nut – 8 . . . (6%)
  • Pistachio – 12  . . . (9%)

2) What Is Your Favorite Dried Fruit?

Total # of Answers on Poll – 92

  • Diced Mango – 0 . . . (0%)
  • Diced Pineapple – 8 . . . (9%)
  • Raisin – 20 . . . (22%)
  • Diced Papaya – 0 . . . (0%)
  • Dried Cranberry – 16 . . . (17%)
  • Banana Chip – 20 . . . (22%)
  • Dried Cherry – 16 . . . (17%)
  • Dried Strawberries – 8 . . . (9%)
  • Other – 4 . . . (4%)

Damn it.  I continue to prove myself wrong, right before your eyes.  It looks like my nut stats line up with Brett’s nut stats (that sounds dirty, but it isn’t meant to be).  So maybe it wasn’t Jimmy after all.

Almonds lead the league for favorite nuts on both surveys.  If my favorite almond pusher is not behind the results, then their health benefits must be widely known and adopted.

Brett and I were both surprised that peanuts did not rank higher, but it is my hypothesis that the other nuts, including pistachios and cashews, are considered to be more premium nuts. Perhaps respondants chose the so-called “premium nuts” because they make consumers feel like they are dining on a low-cost luxury item. The peanut is a poor man’s nut, in my opinion – but one we all love nonetheless.

As far as fruit goes, our stats did not align as well.  I was surprised that raisins only got 1 percent of the votes in my survey; where in Brett’s they received 22 percent.  Banana chips also did not rank too high in my survey, but did well in the other.  We were aligned with  similar favorability of dried cranberries, pineapples and mangoes.

My inner nerd is in a tailspin right now.  I am beginning to wonder if I should have separated my poll into two polls like Brett and Bucky did.  Maybe you all had too many options.  I’ll try it again in a few months and we will see how the results pan out.

Until then, thank you all for your participation in the first poll ever to be conducted by the Trail Mix Trials.

No Responses to “Where’s My Pocket Protector?”

Leave a Reply

