The Trail Mix Trials
Feeding an Addiction or Feeding Your Face?

The Summer of ’69 was Full of Granola

Apparently, when you’re an attorney and it is a slow day in the office, you ponder the more important things in life … like granola.

Today when I was chatting with my cousin Katie, who is an attorney, she relayed a message from her colleague Tim asking if I knew whether it was true that granola came into its own as a snack at Woodstock.

Don't be confused.  That is not Tim and Katie in this picture.

Don't be confused. That is not Tim and Katie in this picture.

Well, Tim, you stumped me.  They also added the caveat to the inquiry that while granola isn’t trail mix, it has trail-mix-like qualities.  I hear what you’re saying, Tim and Katie; but, I’d go as far as to say that granola is a legitimate trail mix ingredient, just like nuts, raisins or chocolate chips.  I’ve had some very mainstream mixes that included granola.

TMT reporter hat docked firmly on my head, I began to dig into this burning question. This is what I found from www.woodstockpreservation.org:

Although believed to be invented at Woodstock, granola dates back to the late 19th Century. The food and name were revived in the 1960’s, and fruits and nuts were added to it to make it a health food popular with the hippie movement.

As Wavy Gravy hailed “What we have in mind is breakfast in bed for 400,000!” – granola made its major appearance at the 1969 Woodstock Music and Art Festival.  Cones of granola, brown rice, vegetables, as well as a sticky vegetable and grain mixture were handed out to the masses at the Hog Farm.   It was an urgent fix for a desperate situation.

Woodstock_music_festival_posterWell, I’ll be damned.  Like so many things that have existed for centuries but didn’t become popular until recent times, we can thank the hippies for bringing granola to the forefront.  And I think we can logically deduce why we sometimes call hippies “granolas.”

This is one out-of-the-court-room trial for which we can thank our attorney friends.  Thanks, Tim and Katie.

2 Responses to “The Summer of ’69 was Full of Granola”

  1. Thanks for your research and analysis on this issue! By the way, I’m putting a tie dye dress on my Christmas wish list.

  2. I hope that I get your name in the gift exchange. If I do, you can guarantee that tie-dyed dress will be yours.


Leave a Reply

