The Trail Mix Trials
Feeding an Addiction or Feeding Your Face?

Searching for Nuts in the Land of Fried Chicken

Well, it is time to hit the road again!  This time, Arkansas.

Arkansas: The Natural State

Arkansas: The Natural State

I’ve been there to visit relatives before and thoroughly enjoyed it.  This is the first time I’ll be going back since my mother has become a permanent resident.

Arkansas is the Natural State, and when you go there, it is easy to see why.  Other things that are quite obvious about the state are the locals’  love of church and their strong affinity for fried chicken.

Bible Belt is the Pink Region

Bible Belt is the Pink Region

In some towns it seems like there are more churches than people to fill them, but my relatives tell me that is status quo for the Bible Belt.

What threw me off guard the most when I was last in Arkansas was the abundance of fried chicken.  You can get it any where you go.

A few years back, my great-aunt Mona and -uncle Jim took us to an Italian joint called the Venesian Inn, and along with the usual suspects on the menu (spaghetti, lasagna, veal Parmesan, etc.) there were also many options for fried chicken.  That is not normal for me to see on a menu at an Italian restaurant, and it makes me laugh every time I think about it.

Meadow Vale Southern Fried ChickenI hope I am not over-generalizing here; this truly was one of my favorite local charms of the region.  Unfortunately, I don’t eat fried chicken, so this allure is lost on me.

We all know what I eat … trail mix.  If I find that trail mix is as abundant as fried chicken, I may never come back.

Hopefully my search in this midwestern state does not mirror the trail mix trials of the previous midwestern stop in Indiana.  Will write soon to report back.

3 Responses to “Searching for Nuts in the Land of Fried Chicken”

  1. I want to go to a place with tree’s like that! The Midwest also has crazy dietary differences from California, like Biscuits and heavy country gravy! 🙂

  2. Speaking of biscuits with heavy country gravy, I ate that more than once on that trip. I’m pretty sure that next time I work out, I will sweat butter and heavy cream. Dieting = FAIL this time around. You know what they say … when in Arkansas …


Leave a Reply

