The Trail Mix Trials
Feeding an Addiction or Feeding Your Face?

An In-Flight Delight

In June we learned that airports are a hot bed of trail mix, and that still rings true thus far in my travels to Arkansas.

For years I have been a loyal customer of Continental airlines, but this trip may have changed my mind.  I’m flying Delta this time and while they don’t offer complimentary in-flight meals like Continental does, they do provide a pretty comprehensive menu from which you can order.  And guess what is featured on the menu … yep, trail mix.

Left side, about half-way down the page.  Kudos, Delta!

Left side, about half-way down the page. Kudos, Delta!

Not bad, huh?  You can order all the trail mix you want if you forgot to pick  some up beforehand or just ate your stash too quickly.  I’m not gonna lie, I was also intrigued by the ice cream selection, but did not partake … that’s a different blog.

You can bet before making my next flight reservation, I will keep this successful trail mix trial in mind.

6 Responses to “An In-Flight Delight”

  1. Did you observe any trail mix in the gift stores in the airports.? I think I have seen a selection in those places before.

  2. Great blog Ang, keep em coming! That is an impressive menu. I can’t decide which is my favorite part, the Todd English bio or the Fresh Selections considered “domestic”? Domestic where? Only Todd English would call an Almond Butter and Grape Jelly Sandwich or a Chicken Gyro “domestic”. Dear Todd, a PB & J and a grilled chicken sandwich (on bread) are “domestic”. Mess with the ingredients and you get “foreign”. Please preserve this great country TODD. Its a good thing he isn’t trying to take credit for the Planters trail mix with his (TE) registered trademark.

    • Thanks! If it makes you feel better, Brad, I didn’t know that Brad Pitt and Angelina had a biological child until it (still don’t know the gender) turned 2 years old. I am perpetually under a rock. So, no, you are not the only one that has never heard of (TE).

      Thanks for your commentary. So much fun!!

  3. That is an impressive menu. I can’t decide what part of it I like better, the Todd English bio, or the Fresh Selections labeled “Domestic”. What is domestic about an Almond Butter and Grape Jelly Sandwich or a Grilled Chicken Gyro? Dear Todd: A PB&J and a grilled chicken sandwich (on bread) are domestic. Mess with the ingredients and you get “foreign”. We can be thankful that Todd didn’t take credit for the Planters Trail Mix with his (TE) registered trademark. Perhaps I am being too harsh on Todd? I have never heard of the guy…but per his Wikipedia page: “Top 50 Tastemakers”, “National Rising Star Chef”, “People magazine’s 50 Most Beautiful People” in 2001, WOW! I must have been living under a rock!

  4. […] Receiving an honorable mention were Delta and Northwest Airlines, which as we previously noted serves trail mix on its menu.  Read on for the story from […]


Leave a Reply

