The Trail Mix Trials
Feeding an Addiction or Feeding Your Face?

Stuck in the Middle with You

The past four days I have been “stuck in the middle …”  the middle of the country, that is.  Don’t let the word “stuck” fool you; I’d happily “stick” there any time.  I was visiting with my mom in Northwest Arkansas.  Such a beautiful place.

As I pondered the possibilities for regional trail mix reviews, it struck me that when 10 miles away from the birthplace of the world’s largest retailer, the only logical option would be Wal-Mart/Sam’s club Sam's Clubtrail mix.

And let me tell you, did they ever have the selection?! My sweet mother knows

18ct_TrailMix_8750_400px of my affinity for trail mix (though she admits she is a bit confused by the Trail Mix Trials), so she purchased a bulk box of individual packs of Kar’s Sweet and Salty trail mix from Sam’s Club and had it out on the table in a cute little basket for me to snack upon at all times.

Then, she made a basket of snacks for my room

Tropical MixMountain Mix

(incase I was too tired to go to the kitchen) filled with 6-ounce bags of Sam’s Choice MountainTrail Mix and Tropical Mix.

I dined upon all of these blends and found them to be fresh, good quality, traditional blends, at what I’m sure was a reasonable price.

The last day in town, we went to Wal-Mart to search for Arkansas Razorbacks gear for Scott and magnets for our little friend Matt, and what do you know – end-caps filled with economy sized bags of trail mix.  Let’s just say that my “souvenir” was purchased.  I picked up a bag Indulgent Trail Mix,Indulgent Trail Mixand another bag of Mountain Trail Mix (because it is the proverbial “classic” blend).  Each 28 ounce bag was $4.95 – an excellent value.  Some premium blends cost more than that for a fraction of the quantity.

I’m saving the bag of Indulgent Mix so I can remember my visit to Arkansas for weeks to come, but the description boasts:

“A Decadent Sweet & Savory Dream of White Chocolatey Drops, Chocolate Drops, Peanut Butter, Golden Raisins, Cranberries, Almonds, Peanuts & Cashews.”

Looking forward to this one.

As I started researching for this article, I came to find that today’s featured blends found at Walmart and Sam’s Club are just the tip of the iceberg.  If you click here, you’ll see that trail mix is quite a mainstay at both retailers.

While I wouldn’t label  any of these as premium blends, they are excellent quality at great prices.  The selection at Wal-Mart offers traditional blends that are accessible and affordable – my favorite kind!wmlogo

If you were unclear as to Wal-Mart’s resounding success, I think we’ve now figured it out – it has cornered the market in offering customers affordable, quality, everyday trail mixes.  I wonder what would happen if they applied these principles to the other product lines?  Sarcasm, of course.

Trail mix trials are more fun when the selection is endless! I’ll be back in the midwest in the spring and will pick-up non-commercialized blends to review at that time.

4 Responses to “Stuck in the Middle with You”

  1. […] This post was Twitted by angierobert […]

  2. I love it that you did a review of our local fare. This is too cute!!!! Walmart’s motto “Everyday low prices.” I find great deals there too. Had a great time with Angie in our digs, Bella Vista. Can’t wait till she comes back with her hubby, my Scottie. Keep those trials coming!!! xoxoxo

  3. […] Tags: calories, Chocolate, Dictionary.com, Indulge, Indulgence, indulgent, ingredients, midwest, nutrition panel, peanutbutter drops, Sam's Club, trail mix, Weight Watchers, WWWWS You can leave a response, or trackback from your own site. « Stuck in the Middle with You […]


Leave a Reply

