The Trail Mix Trials
Feeding an Addiction or Feeding Your Face?

Results: The Trail Mix Marathon

Three months ago, I promised you that I’d be doing hands on field testing of trail mix as a power source for the upcoming Heartbreak Ridge Half Marathon at Camp Pendleton.  Well, today was the big day.

Scott and me after crossing the finish line.

Scott and me after crossing the finish line.

Looking back over the past three months, I have come a long way.  I have (sort of) begun to enjoy running, it has become vastly easier, and my pants are tighter than ever.  Counter-intuitive, right?

As hypothesized, trail mix is an excellent tool for sustaining long-term energy during exercise – one of the best I’ve found to date.  It is a power-packed punch of natural protein, carbs and other essential nutrients from fruits.  While I wish I was the first to figure this out, this is not a new phenomenon.  Years back, trail mix came to life because some insightful hikers were looking for a healthful snack that was small in size but big in results to take on the trail with them.

And while I pride my endurance as my premier athletic asset, I’d go as far to say that energy could be prolonged for any one by consuming trail mix, regardless of physical acumen.

All this said, trail mix will help your energy, but not your “bottom line.”  And by that I mean bottom (butt) size and waste line.  Trail mix is not only big in energy, it is also big in calories, and should not be eaten every day or as a part of your regular diet.  I may be the only person alive to be simultaneously training for a half marathon and triathlon who gained weight during the process.  The culprit (aside from my lack of willpower) – trail mix.

An aerial view into the butt bag filled with trail mix.

An aerial view into the butt bag filled with trail mix.

So today being the big race day, trail mix was top of my agenda as my caloric intake was likely going to be less than my caloric output.  I even purchased a new fanny pack to store said trail mix during the run.  You can see where my priorities lie – in trail mix, not in fashion.

At mile nine when my body started to talk, I opened up my trusty mix and took a few quick handfuls.  Similar to when Mario, in the hit video game Super Mario Bros., jumps on a star and gets super speed powers,  about 10 minutes after eating the mix, my energy kicked in again and brought me home strong to the finish line.

Moral of the story, we had a blast and I think I’ll do it again, but as I train I need to kep my trail mix consumption proportionate with calorie burning.  Like any thing, moderation is key. Keep in mind the original purpose of trail mix when going through your eating and training trials. I look forward to the triathlon on Oct. 4 when I can eat unlimited trail mix yet again.

3 Responses to “Results: The Trail Mix Marathon”

  1. […] Results: The Trail Mix Marathon « The Trail Mix Trials thetrailmixtrials.wordpress.com/2009/09/19/results-the-trail-mix-marathon – view page – cached Three months ago, I promised you that I’d be doing hands on field testing of trail mix as a power source for the upcoming Heartbreak Ridge Half Marathon at Camp Pendleton. Well, today was the big day. — From the page […]

  2. Good job Angie and hubby Scott 🙂


Leave a Reply

