The Trail Mix Trials
Feeding an Addiction or Feeding Your Face?

Tri It

All things in life are fabled to come in threes. 3 So based on that theory of success, last week I asked you to offer suggestions on a three-ingredient trail mix for me to eat during my triathlon (full post here). 

I had two great responses. One came from my mother, who suggested almonds, flax seeds and prunes.  The other (very thorough response) came from my cousin Blake who recommended pretzels, chocolate chips and unsalted walnuts, almonds or peanuts.   I am eternally grateful to both of you for your thoughtful suggestions. 

When analyzing my options, I ruled out prunes and flax seed, both of which lend themselves to “runner’s trot” (that has nothing to do with trotting or pace … click here for full – graphic – detail). I also eliminated pretzels as I am not a fan and they make me thirsty … wasn’t sure about the availability of water stations along the course (turns out they were pretty sparse). 

Almonds – spot on.  Chocolate or something sweet to provide a quick surge of sugar energy to break the carbs down – who are we kidding … I am Angie Robert.  That’s a no brainer.

It just so happens while shopping at Sports Authority  for Robert Family team uniforms – we like to wear the same colors/brands in races (not identically matching) for team unity – I found a dynamite pre-made trail mix that had it all.

Kar’s Yogurt Apple Nut Mix.  The description says:Karnut 6x7.0685

GET A SWEET SURGE OF POWER!
Don’t let your outlook go sour when your energy drags. Sweeten it up with a delicious handful Kar’s Yogurt Apple Nut Mix. With a tasty combination of honey peanuts, yogurt covered raisins, sesame sticks, tart apple pieces, butter toffee nuts and almonds, this mix is quickly becoming a consumer favorite! It’s loaded with nutty energy and sweet surprises, plus riboflavin, phosphorus, magnesium and protein. Feel that power? Suh-weet!

Apropos, right?  Plus the bag has a peanut-shaped car that appears to be going very fast – I needed all the help I could get. 

Before the race I ate it and it worked!  Aside from physical fatigue due to prolonged repetitive exercise, my internal energy levels were consistent. Dynamite. 

Scott and me post race

Scott and me post race

Not to mention this trail mix is delicious and I’d eat it every freaking day if I could.  If I were a vintner, I’d pair this with a fine Sauvignon blanc.  A very light and fruity blend. 

Any way, as per previous Trail Mix Marathon trials, trail mix is a killer snack for exercise.  I’d use it every time – be it a triathlon, half-marathon, or walk around the park.

2 Responses to “Tri It”

  1. […] Original post: Tri It […]

  2. Congratulations on finishing the TRI!!! You are so strong and healthy. I am sure all of your working out and trail-mix eating has helped. Congrats again. Love, mom


Leave a Reply

