The Trail Mix Trials
Feeding an Addiction or Feeding Your Face?

How Else Would I Know Fall is Here?

It is 85 degrees outside on Oct. 16 with clear, blue skies.  Many other parts of the country are getting ready to hunker down for the fall and winter. 

Here in San Diego, we’ve heard that it is fall even though it doesn’t feel that way.  So how is a girl to know when to break out her sweaters and scarves?

Today I found out.  At Target on an end cap of an aisle, Archer Farms Pumpkin Spice and Apple Spice trail mixes  were being featured, respectively.  They don’t offer that stuff in June, so it must mean it is time for the fall, right?your-autumn-by-isa13

Even though I’ve tried hard to stay away from Archer Farms’ mixes because they are really just re-packaged and re-marketed candy or desserts, I had to pick up a bag of the pumpkin spice blend simply to fill you in on the available seasonal trail mix options.

The mix has:

  • raisins
  • yogurt-covered raisins
  • graham squares
  • pumpkin-spice almonds
  • cinnamon-glazed pecans

As far as capturing the flavors of autumn, they are spot on.  But like their other Archer Farms trail mix counterparts, they are high in fat, calories and carbs, way over-priced (this mix is $7.99/bag), and heavy on additives.  PumpkinSpice

If you’re having a fall-time party, this would be a great mix to put out in bowls for guests, or if you’re looking for a small gift to bring to someone, putting this in a decorative jar would be perfect. 

As for my true take, it is good but not my bag.  Unlike many, I don’t crave seasonal delights, like pumpkin spice when the weather starts to change.  Chocolate 365 days a year completely does the trick for me. 

In the spirit of science, and for your knowledge, I will be giving the apple spice blend a trial before winter hits.  It is fun to know they mix things up when the seasons change.  I’ll be keeping an eye out for you, my loyal readers.  Keep clicking back.

2 Responses to “How Else Would I Know Fall is Here?”

  1. […] How Else Would I Know Fall is Here? « The Trail Mix Trials thetrailmixtrials.wordpress.com/2009/10/16/how-else-would-i-know-fall-is-here – view page – cached It is 85 degrees outside on Oct. 16 with clear, blue skies. Many other parts of the country are getting ready to hunker down for the fall and — From the page […]

  2. […] Apple Pie.  At that time I tried the pumpkin spice and didn’t care for it (full post here).  Regardless, I vowed to test the Cinnamon Apple Pie blend for you, and boy am I glad I […]


Leave a Reply

