The Trail Mix Trials
Feeding an Addiction or Feeding Your Face?

Consistency is King or Else the World is Flat

Well … another trip (this time to  South Florida) and the same results. One thing I’ve learned is that trail mix is pretty much the same, regardless of geography.   For the most part, when I travel, I see the same brands, or the same ingredients in different packages. 

There’s something to be said about knowing what you’re going to get when you buy it, no matter where you are in the world.  For that, I am thankful.

It is either the trail mix industry’s attempt at consistency, or the world is flattening at a faster pace than we all realize.  Could it be that the global economy has taken hold of the automotive industry, the oil industry … and now the trail mix industry? My gosh.

However, I not-so-secretly fantasize about going to different places and having the trail mix offerings reflect the regional cuisine.  That in mind, I documented what seemed to be the foods indigenous to the Southern Florida region and am making a hypothetical “So. Flo” trail mix based on what I’ve found. 

It would feature:

  • mini alligator-shaped chocolate pieces
  • coconut
  • dried oranges
  • dried key limes
  • dried mangoes
  • Caribbean rum-covered almonds
  • pink-candy-coated sunflower seeds (to represent flamingo droppings)

I think it sounds delicious and seems to be an accurate depiction of the area.  While my traveling trail mix trials have not proven to be much of a success, I’m not giving up.  Worst case scenario, I’ll just have to make my own.

One Response to “Consistency is King or Else the World is Flat”

  1. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by SD Bloggers, Angie Robert. Angie Robert said: TMT Updates: Consistency is King or Else the World is Flat – No matter where I travel, trail mix is the same. Here… http://ow.ly/1626FE […]


Leave a Reply

